GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
1
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought two cows 30000 KES, paid a land debt of 12000 KES, a sheep 2500 KES and bought food with the rest of the transfer.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, building a house was my new goal.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have a big difference of owning cattle, living in a big house and having settled land debts.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the money to build a spacious house so l bought 27 iron sheet, 60 poles at 9000 kshs l also use 2000 kshs to pay labour the remaining 15000 kshs l use to buy cows to pay dowry.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
there is a big difference in my life because right now l have a very spacious house and l am also happily marred.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I built a pit latrine. I used to help myself at the neighbor's latrine. Bought bedding for my family. I also purchased foodstuffs and family clothes.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house because my current house is too small to hold my visitors. I'm also planning to buy some chairs.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a better house and buy my mother a better mattress for her to sleep on.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I an proud to have a married a very responsible wife, and she has given me a lovely daughter.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
A relative once got me a job in central province where his own sister is married. However, he set up after stealing some money from his in laws. I was arrested, beaten and left for dead. I am grateful to the policemen who took pity on me and let me go.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest working, because then I know I can provide for my family.