chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Silpa's Profile
Silpa's family
Silpa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Silpa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 16,750 KES to buy 25 iron sheets, poles for 12,500 KES, nails for 2,500 KES, ropes for 1,500 KES to tie up the poles and paid 4,500 KES as labour charges to construct the house. I also bought a bag of maize for 3,500 KES, solar lamp for 2,000 KES, blanket for 1,000 KES and paid up a debt of 3,000 KES. The rest was spent on buying food in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My spouse passed on and left me in a house that was very old and with rusty iron sheets that was leaking, but now I live in a much bigger house with proper roofing and spacious enough which can comfortably contain my family and our belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4000 KES of my token payment on 5 iron sheets, 2400 KES on a sack of maize, 2000 KES on MKopa solar system, 600 KES on food then I dug and built a latrine using the remaining 1000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I would like to build a semi-permanent house of 30 iron sheets using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to inject more capital into my business, I am a fish trader and I would like to increase the quantity of fish that I buy. I will also need to pay school fees for my children who are in various schools.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having struggled, saved my earnings and managed to educate my daughter up to form four.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to enable me pay school fees for my children. They all have fee arrears and might soon drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening especially if I have managed to get some food for my family, it makes me very happy when I watch my children having a meal.