GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Caroline's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I am planning to build ahouse so l have bought some building materials such as 12 iron-sheet at 15000 kshs, the remaining balance l still have it in my e-mpesa account.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life will soon change once my house is complete because l will be now living in a spacious house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6,000KES on buying ironsheet, and 1,000KES on buying nails for building a house. I also spent 500KES on buying school uniform and paid 600KES for school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy more ironsheet, polls and timber, and build an iron roofed house.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a new house since my house is very small. secondly I would like to buy household items for my house to avoid frequent borrowing from others. Finally l would like to open up a business to generate income to
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have tried to to do farming which has really helped in terms of food security.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income to support my children since l am all alone.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest of the day is in the afternoon when l receive help from my relatives.