GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Katana's Profile
Katana's family
Subsistence farming
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Katana's next check-in.
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I've harboured a long-standing aspiration to establish a small shop as a means of generating income. While I've been engaged in subsistence farming and livestock management, which are certainly commendable endeavours, they haven't consistently yielded substantial returns. Consequently, providing for my family's basic necessities, such as food and education for my children, has proven to be quite challenging. My current objective is to accumulate sufficient savings to procure a substantial inventory of cereals, sugar, and household goods that I can retail for a profit. This will help reduce our dependence on subsistence farming, which is both seasonal and subject to occasional failure. Launching the shop will establish a more dependable income source, and this is a goal I am committed to achieving in the upcoming year and beyond.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am filled with gratitude towards GiveDirectly, as their support has made it possible for my daughter to attend college. She is currently in her first year, pursuing a three-year hairdressing course. My main concern has always been the daunting task of raising tuition fees for her education, especially given my lack of a stable source of income. The relief and happiness I felt when receiving this support were immeasurable, as it allowed her to enroll in school. Since I started receiving financial assistance, I have made a commitment to contribute $20 every month to ensure that her education continues uninterrupted. My spouse is also a beneficiary of the program, and together, we have overcome the challenge of financing our daughter's education. It brings me great peace to see her thriving in her studies, and my fervent hope is to witness her achieve her educational aspirations and become self-reliant after completing her course. Furthermore, I allocated a portion of the assistance, $14, to purchase four chickens, which I am now raising at my homestead. I currently own ten chickens, and my goal is to expand this venture, eventually exchanging them for goats as they multiply. Lastly, I used the remaining funds to purchase building poles and renovate my house, which had suffered damage on one side. Thanks to the renovations, my home is now in a habitable condition, and I no longer worry about the impact of rain as I did before.
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am a subsistence farmer who also tends to livestock, occasionally relying on my sons who also have families of their own to support. My two daughters are currently enrolled in college courses for hairdressing, and I want to make sure that they finish their coursework within the program's time frame. Since I don't have a reliable source of income to cover their tuition, I am dependent on the transfers to keep them in school. As a parent, I will be pleased if my daughters achieve their educational goals, which will help them build their future, and become independent because I am confident that once they have finished the program, they will be able to find employment or work for themselves and provide for their needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My financial situation prevented me from enrolling my two daughters in college when they finished high school. Because I was unable to secure their future earlier than now, I felt like a loser as a parent. I was concerned about leaving them without skills that would at least enable them to be independent in the future. When the transfers started coming in, I enrolled them in a college to complete a two-year hairdressing course. I'm pleased that after they finish the courses, they will be able to support themselves and possibly even launch their own businesses. I also used a portion of the most recent transfers to purchase some building poles so that I could renovate my home in addition to paying my daughters' tuition. In addition to being in poor condition, my house was also becoming unstable as a result of the recent rains. I am now at peace and no longer concerned about rain because it is now sturdy and able to withstand rain.
5th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($28 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Unfortunately last June I had a tragedy where one of the walls of my house collapsed, and so we ended up moving to the other room that was left. My plan for this year is to ensure that I use this money to rebuild my house. I have already started buying building material like timber, and I will continue to do so with the funds that I will keep receiving each month. I also intend on using a portion of the transfers to finally start a grocery business so that I can make some money to sustain my family better.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The house where I currently reside is in a dilapidated state. The rain had washed the house's back wall, but I lacked the funds to renovate it. Because I did not have the money to renovate it, I had to endure the extreme cold at night for several years. I immediately spent $14 on buying wood to repair a section of the house after getting my transfer. Although the work is not yet complete, I am making good progress and am optimistic that it will be completed soon. Second, I set aside $20 to pay my two school-age children's back fees. I would like to have a lighter load when they start learning again.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I am pleased that the organization enrolled on a large number of the poor residents of our community. Given that the drought that started three years ago caused us to lose our primary source of income, the transfer has resulted in good developments in our daily lives. However, I would want to suggest that the organization reevaluate enrolling the individuals who were omitted at the time of enrollment.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I support my family by farming animals, while my wife works in the village selling vegetables like kales. Selling the very few veggies brings in a pitiful $2 in profit for my wife. We struggle to make ends meet since we make too little money to cover all of our family's expenses. My two secondary school-aged children rely on me to cover their tuition costs. My two eldest sons, who both work in Mombasa town, give me money when times are tough to help with upkeep and school costs. I spent a significant amount of my second transfer on a goat, which cost $20. This is a wise investment for the future because as the goat population increases, I will get richer. This would enable me to pay the secondary school tuition for my two boys, which I am now unable to do. Along with the goat, I also purchased constructing poles for $10. My home's two mud walls crumbled after forming some sizable fissures making my house unsafe for habitation. This will enable me to make the necessary repairs and return the house to its former state, making it habitable for my family.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1200 KES ($10 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was chilling at home in the evening when my phone beeped an indication that I had received a message. Since I could not understand the content of the message, I waited till the following day and asked my son to check it out only to confirm that it was an Mpesa message. We were glad as a family and decided to prioritize the renovation of my house by purchasing timber.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is being a step forward as far as renovating my house is concerned. I bought timber ready to Kik start the process of renovating the wall of the house which had collapsed.Thank you so much for the financial support.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
For the last six months, I have been living in a depleted house after one of the walls of my house collapsed. Due to limited resources, I have not been able to repair it. However, upon receiving my recent transfer I decided to set a side KES 600 for buying timber that will be used to fix the wall. Indeed I was so happy for I was convinced of renovating my house in due time. To make ends meet, I have been depending on my son . On the other hand, my wife do operate a traditional made alcohol . Additionally, I did pay KES 370 as school fees and bought food for my family of four. Thank you GiveDirectly.
access_time over 1 year ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I'm currently living in a house that has only three walls after the forth one collapsed during the last rains. It's a double room house where one is a sitting room and the other is a bedroom. I still do not have a separate room for my two teenage children who are still living with me and under my care. I do not have any economic activity, and only dependent on my elder sons who works in Mombasa town to pay school fees for their younger siblings and also take care of us. When I get this money, it will be spent mainly spent in renovate the house and erecting corner pillers for more reinforcement.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm so happy right now because I have found a way to renovate my house that is in the verge of collapsing. This house has been this way since the year begun and it's been not so easy to beg for money from my children who could help because they already have enough in their plates. But it's now great because very soon I'll have my transfers from this project to be able to take care of that.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I do not have any source of income. I'm no longer economically active and only depend on my sons to support me in paying school fees for my last two children and also to feed me and my wife. This isn't working out as smooth as one would expect because the ones I depend on also have their own families to support. It's sometimes really hard for them to chose between us or their own families when the resources are limited.