chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum payment, I spent 23450 KES on 35 iron sheets, 1000 KES on a solar panel, 7500 KES on a steel door, 600 KES on 3 Kgs of nails and the remaining 10000 KES on a cow and I spent the remaining 7175 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have acquired a cow, which has increased part of my wealth; it is soon giving birth which I expect to appreciate my value on a daily basis.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4550 KES of my token payment on 7 iron sheets, 2000 KES On medical bills for my husband and the remaining amount on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will build an iron-roofed house using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning on building a better house for our family
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have my own home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is sickness, my husband is also at the hospital and money is required for him to be discharged.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am taking of my children and farming.