chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Tiffany's Profile
Tiffany's family
Tiffany
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Student
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Tiffany's next check-in.
 
7th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 18 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that I am now hopeful and at peace. The transfer has enabled me to pay for my accommodation for the whole semester. I have been able to study well as a result of this. Previously, I was staying with a friend outside the college. The place was far and at times I had to miss lessons whenever I did not have transport to go to college. I have never missed lessons since I started living inside the college compound. Thanks to Give Directly.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start a business during the holiday seasons. I want to save enough money that will sustain me for the whole of the next semester. I want to be comfortable in college and ensure that I have all the basic needs. I also don't want to idle around. I need to keep myself busy and ensure I utilize every minute wisely to make my stay easy while in college.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the whole of my transfer on paying for my hostel fee. I had been staying with my friend and studying was difficult because most of us were staying in that room. Commuting was also difficult because the hostel was far from the college and at times when I had no money, I could miss lessons making it difficult to catch up with the rest who attend classes on a daily basis. I am glad that I was able to cater for my accommodation. I can now study in peace.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($49 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have no new goal but rather I am focusing on paying the hostel rent where I am staying in for easier operations in college because it makes me a proactive and motivated student.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Previously, I used to commute from Mathare to river road for college. This was the most trying time for me because I could miss lectures due to lack of fare, it reached a point I felt like dropping out of college. The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have relocated next to my college through renting a hostel hence my operations have been eased. Therefore my grades have improved due to work-life balance.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Previously, I used to commute from Mathare to river road for college. This was the most trying time for me because I could miss lectures due to lack of fare, it reached a point I felt like dropping out of college. I spent my most recent transfer on paying monthly rent for the hostel where I am staying next to the college. For sure relocating has smoothened my operation in college and it's evident that my grades have improved due to work-life balance.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was looking through my phone under my social media accounts and a Mpesa notification popped on the screen of my phone. I started to smile not knowing that GiveDirectly had sent me money when I checked tears of joy ran down my chicks. This was the happiest day of my life and all my gratitude goes to GiveDirectly.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to rent a hostel in our school where I study journalism and mass communication in Mt Kenya University at Thika town. I have been staying with a friend and I would like to rent my own house. Secondly, I will boost my business of nail art I do at the University. I will be able to increase stock and I therefore hope to get a lot of profit in return. Lastly, I will pay school fees for my education.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is paying rent at the University's hostel because I may be unable to continue with my education. I may return home and depend on my family paying my transport to and from the school. I may become a burden to my family and this might result in engaging in unwanted practice like prostitution or crime or early marriage to make ends meet. I may be unable to cater for my upkeep and therefore unable to sustain my life.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a great journalist and a writer. I will be able to buy cameras, open my studio and be self employed. I will be able to write articles and be able to sell them, touching on all the sphere's of life that people can read. This work is profitable and I will be able to live a good life.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day starts early in the morning at 5:00am when I wake up. I take bath and then prepare for morning classes that start at 7:00am. At 10:00am I have breakfast then resume to class until 1:00pm when I have my launch. After launch I go to the school studio and learn about video shooting. I leave the studio at 4:00pm and open my work of nail art until evening. I return home and prepare for my supper then I retire to bed. In my free time I learn how to make beads, read novels, listen to music or watch movies.