GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Damaris's Profile
Damaris's family
Damaris
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($534 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am now doing a business of sewing clothes using the new sewing machine which I purchased using the transfers. I use the profits generated to feed my family and also save a portion of the transfers for future use.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I think that the organization has been of so much help to members of the community because there are those who used the transfers to buy livestock while others used their money to invest in the small scale business, so for me, I think to let the cash be unconditional was such a good idea.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the money on buying a new sewing machine which I have always wanted to purchase for a long time but then what has been stopping me all this while is the lack of money. I, however, managed to purchase it in recent past using the money I got from Give Directly. There is also a portion that went into the payment of school fees for my children while another portion took care of the family's financial needs as well as saving some for use in the unforeseeable future.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($545 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that through the transfer, I acquired a sewing machine that I had longed for many years after finishing my training as a tailor. I am glad that I will now open my own shop and buy textile materials and provide the tailoring services to clients thus earning an income through it. This will help me to always have money to use in supporting my family even after GiveDirectly will have stopped giving us the financial support.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I saw the notification early in the morning as I was already up for the day's tasks. On checking to confirm the sender, the message was informing me that my transfer had finally been sent into my Mpesa account as promised by GiveDirectly. I was very happy and overjoyed for the money. I then gave thanks to God through prayer and I am also thankful to GiveDirectly for the financial support.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of the transfer on buying a pair of oxen to help me with farming. Previously I was hiring the services from my neighbors and it was always costly. Through the transfer, I acquired my own pair which will enable me to cultivate a bigger acreage unlike before when I used to cultivate a smaller acreage of land. Through the pair, I am assured of early and timely cultivation when the season comes. I will no longer be hiring from neighbors, instead, I will hire to them at a fee, thus earning income. Apart from this, I spent this transfer also to purchase a sewing machine. I had trained to be a tailor and my aim was to open my own shop and be self-employed. However, due to financial constraints, I could not achieve this. I thank GiveDirectly for it is through their financial support that I now have a sewing machine. I am planning to buy enough textile materials, open and run my own shop so as to get income through it.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I completed a tailoring course back in 2013 and since then I have not been able to exercise my profession because of lack of equipment. I am not happy being a housewife yet I have the skills to help me fend for myself. My greatest desire has always been to own a tailoring shop that will earn me a stable income and also bring satisfaction to my life. To achieve this dream, I plan to use the transfer to set up a tailoring shop in my village. However, before I set up the business, I will have to go for a refresher in one of the tailoring schools in Bamba since it is quite a long time since I learnt the skills.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spend my afternoon hours playing with my daughter. Her company excites me as it brings all my childhood memories. This helps me relax my mind after all the tiresome household chores.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Being a young lady, I believe that I have a role to play in terms of providing a descent life for my family. However, this responsibility is left solely to my husband who earns less than 500 shillings a day from his casual job. I struggle so much providing for my family since the money that I get from my spouse is too little to even meet a quarter of our needs. It is quite pressing but sometimes I even feel embarrassed asking for more money from him.