GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Ruth's Profile
Ruth's family
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($256 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different from how it was four months ago because I earn more income from my shop. I have managed to take my children to an improved school with the extra income earned from my shop. My living standard has really changed because I can meet most of my needs which I could not address in the past.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
My additional goal in life to expand my shop so that it can accommodate more goods. I am thinking of increasing the size of the shop structure so that I can put all my goods on display for customers. This will help me with marketing and also increase my sales.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my daily life preceding the current transfer is to add more stock to my business which has resulted to more sales and bigger profits. I added new goods to my stock and luckily my customers noticed and they sold really fast. My living standards have greatly improved following the increased income.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I expect to have expanded my shop and to add more stock of new goods that can earn me a quick profit. This would translate to an increase in my daily income. If all goes well I will be able to open another shop within our shopping centre to increase my sales.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
23675 KES ($236 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily is that I have businesses that can generate more income as I used the transfer to boost them.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I will boost my businesses more to get more income for my family.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have no more stress and i hardly struggle to fend for my family as I have income-generating businesses.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have no new goal.
access_time over 5 years ago
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest that I face right now is lack of enough money to expand my business. Customers usually go to other better stocked shops when I don't have what they need and they usually don't come back later to my shops. If I am unable to buy more stock I might have to shut down.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am at my shop. I get to socialize a lot and this makes me very happy. The atmosphere is usually very lively as sellers and buyers interact with one another.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use the transfers to add more stock in my business. I run a small shop at the local centre and if I buy more stock more customers will buy things from me thereby increasing my profit margins.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was buying a cow. I had to save money earned from my business for quite sometime but eventually I managed to accumulate enough to purchase the cow which produces milk for my family's consumption.