chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emilly's Profile
Emilly's family
Emilly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emilly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 10 bags of cement at 8,000 KES, sand at 13,000 KES, a lorry of gravel at 9,000 KES, murram at 2,500 KES, paid 7,000 KES labour charge, 2,000 KES loan at the Silk, 2,000 KES school fee for my four children, 40 kilograms of maize at 2,000 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now having a decent house that makes me proud and respected.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 4,500 KES to pay my medical bills. I also spent the rest on farming activities.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a bull which can help me in farming activities. I also have a plan of settling my dowry with the remaining portion.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying furniture for my house using the first transfer, the second transfer we will spend on renovating our house by buying ten bags of cement and one lorry of sand, I will also buy a goat using part of the second transfer and the final transfer I will spend on connecting electricity to my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that we managed to build a house and moved from our previously delapedated house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting basic needs as food and clothes is not easy as at times our income is very low hence making it difficult to support everything.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it. This makes me happy as I know that I will get food to eat in the end when I harvest the crops.