<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Irene's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent 21,000KES on buying 30 pieces of iron sheet for building an iron roofed house. We also bought a cow @15,000KES and used it to pay my dowry. I also paid 5,000KES for timber for building the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now do some small vegetable selling business, I do not just stay at home like before.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer on buying mattress, l aslo bought a bag of maize . l also paid school fee for the children
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan o build a nice big house. l also plan to buy furniture in my house and also pay school fee.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to expand our house by adding more rooms since we are in need of a spacious house that can accommodate all our household items.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have a roof under my head and I am also legally married since my husband has paid my dowry.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say being jobless is my biggest hardship because I have to depend on my husband to provide everything for us and this is quite hectic for him.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening while couching my children on how to do their homework.