GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Benter's Profile
Benter's family
Benter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
52
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I cemented my house with 28000 KES, paid school 13000 KES, gave my son 5000 KES and gave my husband 1000 KES for his treatment.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have new goals of starting a kiosk shop and schooling my children. I did not have this plans before receiving transfers.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have managed to pay school fees comfortably for my son who has finished his course successfully, we bought goats which now has kids and have repaired our old house which we could not have done without the GD transfer.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building a kitchen.I also bought 4 goats,6 chicken and paid school fees for my daughter.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I cook in my kitchen now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on paying school fees for my child.I also paid medical bills for my husband and bought clothes for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building a kitchen and plaster my house's floor.I also want to buy goats and chicken.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to a kitchen to act as a store and a place for cooking food. Secondly l would wish to do paultry farming to generate income to sustain my family. Finally l would like to clear school fees balance for son who did fo
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest chievements are that we have struggled to educate our children for our though they do not have any job and we have also built our own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of proper capital to do better business.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when we have some money to support my family.