GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought a cow for 18000 KES, built a latrine with 10250 KES, spent 6500 KES to buy clothes for the entire family and spending the rest of the transfers on feeding.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I got new goals of having a water tank that I did not have before receiving transfer.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I now have a cow as an asset, I am living in a beautiful house and we eat and dress well than before receiving transfers.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 15000 kshs to pay school to my 2 children in academy, l also spend 20000 kshs to buy cow , l spend 10000 kshs to buy furniture, the remaining 5000 kshs use to buy 2 sacks of maize each at 2500 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l have manage to pay dowry to my wife am very great-full.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 3,000KES for school fees for my children in secondary school. I also spent 3350KES on buying cement and cemented the floor of my house. The rest of the money was spent on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to finish my iron roofed house, and also clear school fees arrears.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to expand my business to generate more income to sustain my family. Secondly l would wish to pay school fees for my children who are in high school. Finally l would like to buy water tank because we have water problem.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to build my own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day when I wake up in the morning and I in good shape and capable of doing my work.