GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought furniture(sofa sets and a table) with 18000 KES, bed 4000 KES, utensils and water containers 7400 KES, school fees and uniforms 6500 KES, bought my clothes with 2000 KES and spent the rest on food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I goal of cementing my new house and buying a water tank.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was homeless but now I have built a house and bought many assets I have been lacking.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on 30 iron sheets ksh 18000, timber ksh 9450, nails ksh 1500, 1 door ksh 3500,labor ksh 4000 and spent the balance on meals.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that i now own my my house with comfort .
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought mattress, blanket, food, utensils, paid debt and schools
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I would like to build my house.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a house and buying household items.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that when I had my small fish business could support my self.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I am not able to raise funds to renovate my house that is leaking when it rains.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part or my day is when wake up in the morning at around 7am to do casual labour on people's farms to make some small money that I can support my family with.