chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Lydiah's Profile
Lydiah's family
Lydiah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lydiah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two goats at 10,000 KES, school uniforms cost me 5,000 KES and a mattress at 5,000 KES. I also bought 20 iron sheets at 15,000 KES as part of construction materials for my house. I will spend the rest of the transfer to buy more materials once I finish harvesting.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am living in another woman's house, but I will be happy when I have my house which I will construct soon after getting the transfers from GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the money as capital and started a small fast food business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to build an iron roofed house because I am homeless, and lives in some old woman's house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building my own house because currently I stay in someone's house, I will use part of the transfer to buy four goats that I can keep for meat and milk, I will use part of the transfer to buy beddings, a bed, chairs and a table as I currently sleep on the floor with nothing for visitors to seat on. I will use the remaining amount to open a shop so that I can sell small items like cooking oil and bread in the village.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I got some money from the sale of beans that I had harvested from my farm and I used the cash to start a small hotel in the village that generated for me some extra cash.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that u face in my life is that I don't have a stable source of income and the casual jobs that I do like digging and weeding other people's farms is not something that I get everyday especially during dry seasons when their is no farming taking place. This makes me to go a day without a meal as I can't afford to buy food when I haven't worked.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and I succeed to get some casual job to do like ploughing someone's farm for some pay,I am happy because that day I am lucky to get some money that I will use to bug food for my family.