chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Daniel's Profile
Daniel's family
Daniel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Daniel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 7000 kshs of the transfer to start a small scale business, l bought window at 1800 kshs, sand 6000 kshs, 8 bags of cement at 6800 kshs, labor-charge 6000 kshs, l bought mattress at 5500 kshs, supper-dram at 2200 kshs, l paid fees of 1800 kshs to child in primary school the remaining balance l am still keeping.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because l started business and its is doing well, l get my daily income from it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
My house had wooden door and windows so l decided to change everything so l bought steel door at 6300ksh, two windows at 1500ksh each l also use 200ksh for transport the remaining balance for buying foodstuff.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to plaster my house, l also want to buy furniture and start a business for my wife.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfer to set up a cyber cafe and buy some stationary because this business will generate some income for my family. I also plan to spend the remaining amount on second hand motorbike because I would like to own my motorbike that I can use to transport customers to their destination hence maintaining the flow of income in my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement has been being able to pay dowry to my in-laws.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say,my sickness has been my greatest difficulty because I have spent so much money on treatment and medication.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My favorite time is in the morning when I am cleaning my compound because I feel good when the environment is clean.