GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Sheth's Profile
Sheth's family
Sheth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow a cow at 15,000 and 3 goats at 9,000 KES.I also added capital to my business,bought 2 sacks of maize at 5,000 KES,utensils at 6,000,uniforms and food for my children .
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of going to college.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 35,000 KES ( bought three cows) to pay bride price; 2,500 KES to buy school uniform for my three children and spent 3,000 KES to buy a bag of dry maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Other than getting my wife back from their people after paying her bride price , I have been able to start a small business that enables me to get some daily income for my family. This has been the biggest difference in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on starting a shop business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on adding capital to my business.I also want to go to a driving training.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My wife and I have decided to expand the current family shop into a sustainable business to ensure sustainable income for the family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud to have married a very responsible and business oriented woman. She has helped me form our family, and am proud of her.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The hardest hardship I've ever faced is being remanded in prison on trumped up charges of stealing from my employer. It ended my career, and I've never gotten another job since being released from custody.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Am happiest in the evening, because I feel like I've made good use of the day.