<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Dorin's Profile
Dorin's family
Dorin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dorin's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent 25,000 KES to pay my bride price, we bought two sheep for 6,000 KES, two bags of maize for 6,500 KES, paid school fees for 1,000 KES and bought a wall unit for 12,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since my spouse paid my bride price, we have had peace because he did not have any income and this has made us focus on other issues.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought M-Kopa solar lamp at 6,000 KES, a bag of dry maize at 2,800 KES and the rest on household effects.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a house (move to my own home) and if some amount remains to buy some livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to venture into hairdressing business and use the remaining funds to start up another businesse that entails sales of plastic materials to the local community. This will enable me to meet my family's needs.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have worked hard to educate and feed my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is financial distress. I do not have proper source of income and life is a constant struggle for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the morning when I wake up because some people die in their sleep.