chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Edwin's Profile
Edwin's family
Edwin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Workshop/industrial (works for others)
faceAge:
31
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from the way it would have been because I now have cows which I would have I never bought without the transfer from GD. I feel very proud because I have my own cows and I do not feel as poor as I used to before the transfers. This is a source investment for my family for if we have any financial emergency, we can sell the cows and raise money for the emergency.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have an additional goal of supporting my spouse in her business so that the business can grow in the business and we grow financially. I believe through the business, we will have a stable source of income which will help us meet my family needs in time without much struggles as before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I'm currently staying in town but I do not have a stable source of income neither do I have any investment back in the rural home. I, therefore, bought two dairy cows with a larger portion of the money I received from GiveDirectly as a way of investment. After they have given birth, I believe I'll be able to get enough milk for sale and personal consumption and at the same time, I'll be having additional cows. My spouse had groundnut business but she wasn't earning much from it. I, therefore, helped her expand her business by adding her a variety of stock with part of the money so that she can get more income from the business.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($364 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it was before because I have been able to invest in cows this was a dream but GD turned it to reality. Besides that, I can also comfortably pay my rent on time which could some days accrue over two months. I am now more confident with the plans I have in life knowing that I have financial backing from GD.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
The additional goals I have in mind is to purchase more cattle as a form of savings for future use. When I am in need of cash in the future I will sell the cows and use the money for whichever emergency faced then.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon receiving my recent transfer, I traveled to my homeland to follow up on a land transfer that was pending due to lack of resources. I also bought a cow for the purpose of rearing. The remaining amount I boosted my wife's business and did a little household shopping in my house in Nairobi. This transfer has helped me make steps towards my goals.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($197 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
At the moment, the only goal I have is to buy a tent and chairs so that I will be leasing them. I will carry out this business at my rural home since a weekend will not pass without a function. I settled on this business since my mother will be in charge of it while I continue hustling here in town.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My daily life is totally different from how it had been before as I am now a happy man. This is because I have been able to clear my child's school fees since so many times last year, she was sent back home to fetch school fees and end up staying for almost two weeks before resuming back to school after I have paid 5000 KES only. At school, they sometimes could reject the small amount of money I had and send my child back home with me hence I was being mocked so many times by other people. I am happier now since all this is in the past and I give all glory to God.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My child had been sent back home to fetch school fees and she had stayed at home for one week since I did not have any money. When I received my first transfers, I spent part of it in paying her school fees including the arrears I had accumulated. I also spent part of my transfers in buying some clothes for my family so that they can have enough pairs to change so as to reduce the rate of ware and tares. I spent part of the remaining amount in buying a mattress since we have been sleeping on the floor and it's quite cold at night. The time I received my transfers, my father had been arrested and I spent part of my transfers to bail him out since I was not comfortable with him staying in prison. I spent the remaining amount of my transfers to
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was in the evening as I was going on with my daily activities when one of my friends called to ask whether I had received money from GD and I informed him that I had not. After terminating the call, I decided to check my M-Pesa balance and to my surprise, the money was there. At that instant, I was filled with happiness and I left my place of work since I feared that maybe someone knows that I have some money and attack me at night while going home.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
First I will buy livestock because it is an asset and if they give birth I can even re-sell to sustain myself. Secondly, I will buy motorcycle so that I can use it to go look for work and even start motorcycle business by carrying passengers. Agribusiness is very important because you can't fail and it's profit is very high and that is why I have stated my priorities that way
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because I never went to school and therefore I can't get a better so this hustle that am doing sometimes I go out and don't get anything and come back without money, this means even eating for that day becomes a problem for me. Secondly, my concern is my family since I have a single parent and we never get along so even if I want to improve our home it becomes a problem since we can't agree on anything. Lastly my concern is getting daily sustainance and this is because if I go out like I said before and don't get any work it means I can't eat or do anything regarding finances for that day.
What are your greatest ambitions?
In my life I have always have an ambition to own a home and even become landlord. In addition to that I would love to even own like a betting company
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
Since am just hustling I wake up very early in the morning to go look for work of carrying people's luggage in the market and once am done with that day's work I come back home and have a chat with my peers then later go look for dinner