GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Petronala's Profile
Petronala's family
Petronala
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
59
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the hird transfer on building a house for my son and also used part of it to pay dowry for my late daughter-in-law.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of plastering my wall.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would if I never received the transfer because I managed to build a house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l am planning to build for my son house so l bought some building materials at 173000 KES, l also spent the transfer to plaster my house so l bought 5 bags of cement and sand at 7250 KES, labor-charge 1500 KES, l also bought mattress and cushions at 7500 KES, l had a debt of 6900 KES, l also spent 10000 KES to improve my business the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
There is a big difference in my life because my business is doing well so l am getting my daily income that enable me to live a better life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy 4 ironsheets at 2600 kshs, l bought cushions at 2000 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food in the house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to pay dowry to my daughter in-law.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fees for my daughter in law and build a house for her.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I took my children to school though they did not go up to high school I am proud
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is not being able to educate my children well since I have no income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am able to provide for my family.