GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
John
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on John's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
My mother was very sick so l spend 15000 khsh for medication, l spend 15400 to buy cow-bull, l also spend 10000 kshs to pay for my driving school fees, l also spend 5000 kshs to buy furniture the remaining balance l spend to buy foodstuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has change because l have my driving license now l can get a job and earn a living.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought chairs at 7,500 KES. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to attend driving training with a portion of the transfer. I'm also planning to invest the rest in livestock.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer in the following ways,buying furniture,cementing my house,buying bedding and most importantly do some refresher driving course to acquire a driving license which I can use later to look for employment in driving.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having struggled to build my current house with no source of income.Before I used to live in a small thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face currently in my life is to fend for my family, I do not have proper source of income other than doing odd jobs for others here in the village.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day has to be during the morning hours when I go out to look for casual labour expecting little payment in return which allows me to get food for my family.