chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Samuel's Profile
Samuel's family
Samuel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
53
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Samuel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two cows for 30000 KES, sheep 2500 KES, iron sheets 3000 KES, mattress 4000 KES,and still left with 9500 KES
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was sleeping in a mat but now I sleep in a mattress, I also have cattle which I can later sell.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 7500, 1/2 sack of maize 1000, medical attention ksh 500 and balance spent on meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on buying farming bulls, extend my house, plaster my house clear school fees, start up a small business
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy two oxen and ploughing machine to enable me do better farming to increase productivity. Secondly l would wish to open up a business to generate income to support my family. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my children who are in high school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l have struggled to build my own home though through difficulties. Secondly l have also managed to take my children to school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to buy food and pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when working in my farm with my family.