GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Kauchi's Profile
Kauchi's family
Kauchi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
63
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($521 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different because at first I was unable to pay for my children's fees on time. Due to this, they were always sent home. Having received this money, then I cleared the arrears and they are now comfortably in school. Apart from this, I also replaced the old bedding that I have been using with a new bed and a new mattress. I am now sleeping comfortably on the new bedding. Had it not been this financial support, then I would still be sleeping on the floor on mats and rags.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly has done well in enrolling the households that were not stable financially. Our lives were just pitiable and the much that we have been able to achieve;building new decent houses, educating our children and owning of livestock as assets to us was all through GiveDirectly. I do not see anything that GiveDirectly does not do well in our region.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent KES 40000 of the second transfer to clear school fees for my children, one in college and the other in high school. I am at peace now since they are comfortably in school. I also bought a new bed and a mattress at KES 12000 and replaced the old bedding I was using. I spent the remaining amount on buying some house hold items that include chairs and utensils that I lacked in my home. I also bought some foodstuffs for my family and did some shopping on clothing for them.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($545 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The transfer has enabled me to enrol my son to a medical college which has been his dream. He had stayed at home for long hoping to raise enough money for tuition and meet all requirements. Through financial support from GiveDirectly, my son is now comfortable going on with his studies. Enrolling my son in college is the biggest difference because his dream has been achieved.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I saw the notification in the morning having been tipped off by a neighbour that money had been sent. I went for my phone and checked through my messages and to my surprise, it was indeed true that GiveDirectly had honoured their promise to us. I was instantly overjoyed and happier than before because I have never imagined that I could one day receive such a fortune in my life. I thanked God for using GiveDirectly to improve my life.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the whole of my first transfer to enrol my son to a medical college. He had stayed at home for two years after completing his high school now waiting for an opportunity to at least begin a career that will make him suitable for a job. He stayed this long and could not immediately be enrolled due to some financial constraints since the little savings we had was not enough to meet all the requirements. Through the financial assistance from GiveDirectly, I was able to pay for his tuition fees and did the shopping for his upkeep. I am happy that he is now comfortable in a college and this will enable him to secure employment in future after college. I spent the remaining amount of money on buying foodstuffs and other basic necessities for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My two children completed secondary education in 2017 but I have not been able to take them to college. They currently work as casual labourers in Mombasa and their earnings are not enough to sustain their needs. My desire is to see them through college that will provide better job opportunities for them. GiveDirectly has come as a savior and I will be able to fulfill my dreams. In this regard, I will Start a livestock rearing project that will finance their tertiary education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My morning hours are usually busy with household chores and farm work. Working under the son is quite tiresome and the only time I get to rest is the afternoon. Sitting under a shade helps me to regain energy thus making afternoon the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I used to sell sisal fibre in the past but I stopped due to poor health. Currently I depend on subsistence farming which is also unreliable due to poor rainfall patterns and unproductive land. This means that meeting basic needs for the family is such a big challenge and sometimes we even go without food. My husband who could be of help is too weak to work due to old age thus reducing me to the sole breadwinner. I can therefore say financial instability is my biggest hardship.