GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Agnes's Profile
Agnes's family
Agnes
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Personal services (self-employed)
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Agnes's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that, I now have a house in my home. My family can now enjoy our own space and even dignity from sharing a house with my mother in law.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to open up a second hand clothes business here in Mathare and to focus on expanding the business where I can open other branches as well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to complete building my house in my matrimonial home in Bunyore Ward, Vihiga County. I am married with two children and my husband and have not been able to build a house for our family. I knit beads for the traditional Maasai sandles wear, while my husband is involved in casual labor. We both do not earn enough to enable us to meet our daily needs or to afford to build our own house. We have been staying at my mother in law's house anytime we visited the home. It has been hard to live with my mother in law with my children. I have had to persevere uncomfortable situations and feelings that I always felt. I am very happy that I now have a house where I can live with my children. I am grateful to Give Directly for this.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
The only plan I now have is to start a business of selling second-hand clothes. I have come into conclusion to start this type of business since its goods are non-perishable and when one does not make any sales, he or she does not worry about the condition of his or her goods. The competition also at the place where I intend open this business at is less hence I am assured that I will be getting customers to buy my goods daily.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The fact that I have been able to buy some iron sheets, I am now a happier woman unlike before since I now know that very soon I will be having my own house back at the village.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
It has always been my prayer to build a house back at home since I used to sleep at my inlaws house whenever I visited. I have not been comfortable with it and this has always made me uncomfortable visiting home. When I received my first transfers, I used part of it in buying iron sheets which I will use in building my house. I used the remaining amount in buying myself a pair of pair clothe and shoes to be wearing when going to church as I did not have decent ones.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was a cold morning as it was raining at around 8.00 am when I was going on with my daily activities when I received a message confirming that I had received some money from GiveDirectly. At that instant, I became so happy until I could not feel like it was cold anymore. This gave me hopes that I would soon fulfill my goals and this made me so happy. I then started singing and prayed to thank God for His blessings on that day.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will spend my transfers to expand my business. I make decorative beads for Maasai Sandals and then I hawk at Kariokor market. I will use my transfers to buy more materials for the business. Secondly, I will spend my transfers to go back to school to study tailoring. I enjoy knitting clothes and I feel this will be a business that I will enjoy when I start practicing. Finally, I will spend my transfers on my family; my spouse and children. I will use the transfers to pay school fees for my children, and support my spouse in different ways that he will need.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is Family, in terms of death. My concern here is losing my life or dying and leaving my young children behind who will struggle and suffer without a mother. My other concern is electrocution. This is because of the pain and instant death that comes with electrocution. Finally, my third concern is lies. I feel hurt and taken for granted when someone lies to me.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to own a large tailoring shop in Huruma Estate in Nairobi County. I intend to go back to school to take a course in tailoring. Huruma Estate has a large population with good flow of money. I feel I will have good market there while earning a good income.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day begins at 6:00am when I wake up and prepare breakfast for my family. I then freshen up and prepare my children for school and take them to school. Once they get to school, I knit my beads in the house almost the whole day. I deliver the ready beads to Kariokor only once per week on the market day; which is usually on Thursday. On the days that I don't go to the market, I spend my days knitting the beads. In the evening when my children arrive from school, I assist them with homework and prepare for them supper. In my free time I enjoy listening to 'bongo' music and listening to radio generally.