chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Evaline's Profile
Evaline's family
Evaline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Evaline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a door (2500),paid school fees (1500)bought a mattress (3500) and irrigation pump (1500).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a bought a door and paid school fees for may child and this has has made me secure and more happier that my child is now going to school
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent transfer on buying one wooden door 3500 KES, water drum 700 KES , school fees 1500 KES, clothes KES 400, 1/2 sack of maize 1000 KES , labor for door fixing 700 KES, Basin 120 KES and used balance on daily meals .
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on buying chairs and building my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my son in high school. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy household items like furniture. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy a cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to construct iron roofed house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a stable source of income to support my family. We sometimes go for a day without having a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go to the farm to weed.