GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Zeldah's Profile
Zeldah's family
Zeldah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
20
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
access_time 6 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the second transfer on paying arrears for my university tuition fees and resumed my studies.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that I feel so happy that I had deffered my university studies, but now I have resumed and am very hopeful that I will soon graduate.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5000 KES of my token payment on 2 goats, 4000 KES on a sack of maize and the remaining 1000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When I receive my upcoming lumpsum transfer, I will resume my college education.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to use our transfer on poultry farming because it has good returns and can help us educate our children in future.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have managed to educate our siblings upto the University level by using our savings from motorcycle business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face in life is that we lack sufficient funds to feed, educate and take care of the medical needs of our family members because we lack a proper and reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am doing my routine daily chores such as when feeding young chicken and enjoying their progress.