GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
21
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caroline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought one wooden table at 3,000 KES, one clothe bag 1,200 KES, clothes for my children and myself at 3,200 KES, one wooden bed at 4,000 KES but the rest of the cash got lost in the Mpesa account.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My family is now happier because I now have the things that I never had before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a larger portion of the transfer to buy chairs. I also spent the remaining portion on family foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house because my current house is small. I'm also planning to buy a cow which will provide me with free milk in the future.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house which is big enough for my family because I am currently staying in a very small house. I am also planning to buy my own bull for ploughing so that I stop hiring from others at exaggerated costs.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I can cook using a gas cooker that I purchased through small savings from my business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of reliable source of income to feed, educate and cloth my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I come back home from vending vegetables and I have food for my family.