GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Sara's Profile
Sara's family
Sara
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Sara's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a lorry of sand at 10,000 KES, 15 bags of cement at 13,500 KES, paid 10,000 KES labour charge, cement paint at 11,500 KES, used 2,000 KES to repair my broken bed and three tables, 2,725 KES on food for the workers.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My house is not dusty anymore hence no more coughs in my family and am no longer borrowing tables when I have visitors.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 8,000KES on buying balast for cementing the floor of my house, and paid 2,000KES for school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy cement , sand and pay for labour to cement the floor of my house. I also plan to pay school fees fi\or my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my child who is joining form one, repair my house and buy a water tank if there is some cash remaining.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having bought livestock using proceeds from my farm.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have right now is lack of enough money to pay school fees for my child, he is supposed to join secondary school in January 2016.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part my day is around midday, this is because I am usually working in my farm.