chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Standard Uganda
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1730250 UGX ($463 USD)
access_time 19 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is having got this transfer that helped me to hire farm lands that I will use until I am paid back the money I used to hire them. These farm lands will enable me to cultivate for both subsistence and commercial purposes. With this I will be able to cater for my family day to day needs. Prior to getting this money, I used to have almost no place to farm since I could use only a small portion from my compound to farm and ended up doing casual labour to raise money to keep the family going.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received my money, I felt happy. The issue of land in my home would be solved.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my entire first transfer Ugx 1700000 to hire two big pieces of farm land.
 
Enrolled
access_time 10 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will buy land for farming and build iron-roofed house. My family hires land per season, this is quite expensive and at the end little crop produce is realised which does not support out needs. Also getting grass is to expensive and yet it requires renovating the house after every two years . I will engage in to serious farming hence maximising on production after buying my own land. These produce will support me in educating my children and providing other basic needs. The house built will enable savings and provide comfortable accommodation for my family members.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest moments is always afternoon hours after getting lunch. My morning hours are full of engagements like garden work and some domestic activites to make ends meet. When is afternoon hours I relax chatting with my children and they encourage me to plan well.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of farm land. Iam unable to maximize on farming as a source of earning hence the family lacks sufficient food and other basic requirements. My children are also studying in lower level schools and this is affecting their academic performance.