GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Anah's Profile
Anah's family
Anah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($248 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
In the last four months, I have been having food in my house unlike before the transfers. I used to struggle to raise money to feed my family since I only depended on income from casual work which was not consistent and not enough to meet my family needs. Since I received the transfer, I have been having food on the table for my family which really makes me happy and peace of mind.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
In the next four months, I have a new goal of buying household items which I feel I do not have now. After building a house, I would not want to have an empty house. Therefore I would like to buy household items such as tables, sofa sets, utensils and bedding which I do not have and some are old.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my life since I received these transfers is that I have a new house. I had desired to have my house in my own home compound being that I stay in my parents-in-law's compound. I have now become of age to have my own home according to our culture. Due to my low income from casual work, I was not able to build a house of my own. When I received these transfers, I was able to buy building materials such as iron sheets, nails, and timber which I used in building a new house in my own compound. I have created space for my junior siblings to at least move out since I am the first born.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the six months, I would want to use the transfer to start a foodstuff business to help me boost my income. I would not want to struggle anymore as I used to through casual work. The profit from the business would be my income to help me meet my family needs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
23675 KES ($235 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have nice bedding. I have been suffering from the cold now I have very comfortable.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months,I expect to be leading a more comfortable life and living in a more comfortable place after I plaster the house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that I have my own house in my compound. Something I have always wanted to have but could never make it for lack of money. I am happy GiveDirectly has made is possible.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to plaster my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of money to take my two children to a hospital when they were sick and eventually they died.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am cultivating since farming is the only source of my livelihood.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to spend my transfer in starting a shopkeeping business to get some income to feed my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement that I have been able to save Money from selling potatoes and used my saving to build a house.