GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets and nails at 20,500 KES, wall poles at 6,000 KES, one still door at 6,500 KES, one sofaset at 5,500 KES, clothes and shoes for my family at 4,000 KES, one goat at 2,700 KES, 40 kilograms of maize at 805 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to borrow shoes from my neighbours for my children and I when going to a journey or church but not anymore because I have my own.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on purchase of a cow for 17,500 KES (we added our own savings)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on Initial Deposit for a piece of land.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I spend the whole day without crossing someone's line.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to use this transfer to buy some piece of land and construct a better house for myself.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement i'm proudest of is that I have been able to raise my two children independently.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is terminal illness.