chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Kasifa's Profile
Kasifa's family
Kasifa
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
41
workCampaign
Standard Uganda
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kasifa's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1730250 UGX ($472 USD)
access_time 13 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I feel much happier and peaceful because I have constructed a permanent house after many years of living under a grass thatched house.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
My first son read the mobile money message for me. I felt happy at that moment when I confirmed my account balance.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought construction materials such as bricks,cement. I also bought some household items with part of the cash transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will be able to Educate my children. I have three sons all studying in malera secondary school but paying thier fees is a real struggle. This is because I depend on selling produce for money which is unreliable due to seasonality. My sons will be in position to study well un disturbed at school once I clear their fees. They may get jobs in future for sustaining their families and myself.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I normally start my day by working in the garden, then after do prepare lunch for the family. I mostly find a smile and happiness in the afternoon hours since they children can play after eating.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest harship I face is lack of enough money to enable me start an income generating activity. I therefore rely on crop farming which fetches very little to maintain the family requirements like paying fees and clothing.