GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Pauline's Profile
Pauline's family
Pauline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
38
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Pauline's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 25 days ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
We are still living in one house with all my sons, I do not have financial muscle to build them a house. GiveDirectly gives me an opportunity to build them a one roomed house costing about KES 30000. Buying food daily is costly, this motivates me spend KES 35000 of my transfer on farming. I will lease a piece of land and plant maize crop. This will enable my family to have enough food. My son Timothy Leyon Kimiti joined Kilindini secondary school this year. I am impressed that this academic year, my son will not have any school fees problem. I will use KES of my transfers to pay for his school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I have been struggling to pay school fees for my daughter Sheilah Bintiyon who sat for her national examination last year. Although she never had quality time for her education due fees arrears, she managed to perform well in her exams. This made me happy. I am now planning to
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Water is a big problem in our village, we buy water from the nearby water shop for domestic use. This comes with another additional cost to my family. I am a casual labourer and what I earn is peanut. After budgeting what I receive from working, I am left with little money to buy my family enough clean water for domestic use. We end up limiting the use of water, some of us could even go for two days without taking bath. Our biggest part of the land is not arable, we end up buying food for the family which is costly. On average we spend about KES 400 on food a day. Comparing with my daily earning of KES 350, I have nothing to save and invest.