chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
45
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building a kitchen and paid fees and medical bills for my daughter.I also bought a cow,bed and a mattress.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my daughter is alive because of the operation she underwent.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy food , l paid 3000 for debt that l had , l also use the transfer for medication.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to plaster my house , l also plan to buy household items.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying furniture for my house, I will buy a cow that I can use to plough my farm and build a toilet for my family. I am also planning to buy food that I can consume in my house as I had not planted crops during this p
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to buy a dairy cow with the money I got from the sale of the crops that I had harvested.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is in terms of inadequate food as at times I am forced to go a day without a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it having in mind that I will have some food to feed my family.