GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Joseph's Profile
Joseph's family
Joseph
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Transport (works for others)
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($471 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different in that I now earn a daily extra income from the motorbike that I purchased from my transfers. I am always assured of some income from this venture, whether I get any jobs for carrying luggage or not.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I do not have any additional goals for now apart from my initial goal to open up a welding shop from the income that I will receive from my motorbike and also from my causal engagement of carrying luggage for people. This has also been the overall goal and the main goal that I have had for a long time.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to purchase a motorbike that will offer transport services for business. I begun purchasing this motorbike with my first transfers where I paid an amount of 10000 KES, as the down payment. I then paid the pending debt of the motorbike with the whole of my second transfers that was an amount of 36800 KES. I am still remaining with a debt of 47000 KES that I intend to complete with part of my third and final transfers. I have been involved with carrying luggage for people at the popular Garissa Lodge market in Eastleigh estate, for some pay. I am still involved in this engagement as I offer employment with my motorbike to someone more experienced in riding motorbikes; and someone who has a licence also. I usually collect an amount of 400 KES everyday from my motorbike rider. I purchased this motorbike to increase my income and also to assist me raise enough funds for my bigger goal of owning a welding workshop.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($196 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have an experience in welding which I did a while ago immediately after my high school. I will use my next transfer to open a workshop where I will be making metal products for sale. There aren't many of such workshops around this area making it a profitable business because of less competion.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The money enabled me to purchase household items that I never had before such as a gas cooker which has made my life easier. Before I received the money, I would go to bed on an empty stomach because the charcoal stove I used before was too slow in cooking which I could not bare to wait after such a long day of hustle. Nowadays it only takes a few minutes for me to cook which is quite efficient and time-saving.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I received the money at a time when my mother was sick and admitted in the hospital and part of the money was used to pay for her medication. I spent the rest on household items such as gas cooker, a bed and utensils.I saved the rest for my future business plans.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was extremely happy when I received the money because it was the first of such kind I have ever received in my life. I knew it was a great opportunity for me to turn my life around and immediately I saw the money I made a silent prayer for God's guidance.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I would like to start a welding businesses. Due to devolution, there is increase in infrastructural development and construction of housing units to meet the demand of people. I will be making doors and windows because of the demand and is profitable. I would pay school fees for my child as well as taking education policy for him. Lastly, I will furnish my house, buy a bed since I have been sleeping down on a mat. I will also buy utensils and cook food in my house, because I have been eating in kiosks which is expensive and sometimes the risk of food poisoning.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because its very difficult to survive in urban places. I pay my bills in time, especially rent, failure to do so,can lead you into trouble. I would never want to engage in criminal activities to make my ends meet.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would want to be a successful businessman. With this I will be able to sustain my life, provide basic needs for my family. I would also want to give back to the less fortunate in the society.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
When I wake up in the morning, I have my breakfast in a nearby kiosk. I go in a garage where I hustle until evening. When I come back, I take bath, go out to have supper and return in my house to sleep. When I am not work, I relax at home, visit my siblings and attend group meetings. On Sundays I go to church, after service I wash my clothes, then visit my friends.