GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my first lump-sum transfer to clear fee balances for my children and retrieve their certificates (24000), I enrolled my child in college (12000), my husband used 10000 to boost his livestock business and i used 4000 to boost my grocery business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live in bebts and under fear because my debtors were always on my case but with our businesses running, we are able to meet our daily needs. we have also settled the outstanding fee balances and enrolled our child in college we are very happy and that is the biggest difference in our daily life as a family.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought seat cushions, repaired my roof, and bought utensils. I put some money inmy business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will pay school fees for my kids. I will also repair my house.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am still planning with my spouse on how to spend the transfer.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is education my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of college fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I am in my farm in the morning.