GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Collins's Profile
Collins's family
Collins
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
21
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($463 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a business. That business will require that I buy a motorcycle for transporting goods to various market places and thus reducing the cost of transport and making my business more profitable. I intend to run a retail shop where I will be selling jua cali good. As for the motorcycle, I am optimistic that the amount of money I spent in farming shall nable me make income enough to even buy a second hand motorcycle. Once I have accumulated enough money to buy a motorcycle then I will be able to start small and advance my business going forward.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly boosted families equally without discriminating any household whatsoever. The support they gave have brought some form of equality not only in my village but in the entire subcounty. We feel the impact and we cant thank Givedirectly enough as residents of Chepalungu sub county. I did not find anything that I thought GiveDirectly did not do well at all.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used KES 20000 to buy livestock, KES 9000 to buy households furniture and another KES 3600 to buy a fencing wire. KES 2700 was used to buy a solar and another KES 7600 was used to buy a battery. The last mile connectivity program that was run by government did not reach my village and I thought it wise to invest in solar and battery and be able to make my home more comfortable and avoid the hustle of having to travel for long distance to even charge my battery or phone. I am happy that my home is more comfortable and I feel happy being around here all the time and working in my farm. I used the remaining amount of KES 5000 to buy my own clothes. The livestock that I bought shall help me in the near future to be able to even pay my own daory since I am planning to get married soon. I am so happy andgrateful to GiveDirectly for the timely support.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($486 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was busy talking to a friend over the phone at around 9pm just after supper when I received an Mpesa notification from GiveDirectly. I was very excited and immediately informed my siblings of the good news and couldn't hardly sleep that night waiting for the morning to withdraw the money.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is happiness because the transfers have acted as capital for my crop and livestock farming. I also have adequate food and has relieved me of my hawking business because I am now preoccupied with farm work.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent most of my transfer on a two young bulls because they grow fast and can be sold for a dairy cow and can also be sold to revive my hawking business. I also bought iron sheets , fence, rented a piece of land for two years and solar lighting system for charging and lightning.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My dream of starting a small bussiness of KES 80,000 will be fulfilled. I hawk snacks such as sweets and biscuits to earn a living. I started this business in 2018 when I completed my secondary education because I could proceed to college due to lack of school fees. My mother raised me single handedly and payment of school fees was a challenge to her. Currently, I operate with a stock of KES 700 per day and it gives me a profit of KES 300 which is barely enough to meet my basic needs as it caters for food and other necessities only but no savings. I will therefore use KES 80,000 of the transfer to start up a small retail shop. This will give me enough profits which I can save up to further my education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Resumption of the market days and removal of curfew hours in my county is what has brought me joy as a bussiness man. This has enabled me to resume my hawking business as normal. Though it is not good like before but there is an improvement in sales and at end of the day I can earn KES 300.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My hawking business has greatly been affected by COVID-19 pandemic. The challenge I am facing currently is poor business. My target market used to be school going children and market days but due to Covid-19 pandemic restrictions by the government this was closed and also markets was closed for some time. I used to get a profit of KES 6,000 per week compare to now I am earning KES 1500. This has held me down in my other projects like completing my house which is still under construction.