chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Aphlona's Profile
Aphlona's family
Aphlona
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Aphlona's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house-my kitchen with 20 iron sheets that cost me 20000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer and we invested the remaining 30000 KES in carpentry business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
We never had any source of income before and this would make us poorer but when we received transfers from GD, we opened a business that generates for us more income and cater for our household needs; we are currently living a better life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought ironsheet, timber and nails, and constructed a kitchen with the whole transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for my children, and buy and fix iron windows.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to pay dowry. We also plan to use part of the transfer to buy a piece of fertile land which we can use for agriculture. We hope to increase the harvest through this.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to save some money that enabled us to build a small iron roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we have faced in life is when we didn't have anything to hold on as a source of income. Life became unbearable and at some point we were unable to provide food for the family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I eat together with my children. They make me happy.