GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
28
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent on construction of a kitchen and a latrine. I paid 10,000 KES school fees for my son. I injected 20,000 KES into a shop business. I also cemented the main house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I was able to boost my shop business and now I'm in a position to earn a living from my business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the larger amount of the transfer on building materials , l also paid school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to buy other materials for building , then build a house . l also plan to pay school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on opening a shop, I will also pay school fees for my children and to build a house. I will also use part of the transfer to build a toilet and to put up piped water in our home for clean drinking water.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that we have been able to take our girl child to school till she cleared secondary school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we face in our life is that we have other children who are attending school and getting school fees for them is not easy with our little income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when we go to our farm in the morning as a family to plough it, this makes me happy as we will be able to get food when we harvest the crops.