<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Fredrick's Profile
Fredrick's family
House construction
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Fredrick's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid my wife's dowry. I also paid my children's school fees and spent the rest on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was too poor to pay my wife's dowry until I received transfer.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought a sheep , l also use part of the transfer to offset a loan that l had . l bought a bag of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to marry and pay dowry . l also plan to move out and build my home.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying furniture for my house, I will also buy two sheep and I also plan to build my own home. I will use part of my transfer to pay dowry for a new spouse if I manage to get another one so as to replace the one who d
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to build the house I am staying in currently and also managing to take my children to school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I do not have a source of income as when I got sick I was not able to resume the job that I used to do.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning to clean my father's compound so as to ensure that it is well maintained even though my father is not around to see it.