chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Charles
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($251 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
Currently my children stay in school throughout the the term without being being sent home for school fees unlike in the recent past when they used to stay at home due to huge fee arrears they owed their schools. They also wear neat school uniforms and school shoes and have the required textbooks for their studies.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I currently live in my parents' homestead but I would wish t o have my own home as per our culture and traditions. Having my home will give me a sense of self worth and enable me carry out different development projects within my own compound. I am also planning to pay dowry for my wife so that I get into good relationship with my in-laws. I am also planning to start a business and run it together with my wife who is currently a fish vendor. She uses a lot of money to transport fish from the lake which is quite far from our village so she ends up earning very little profit. Starting a business within the village will save us a lot and will enable my household have a better source of income.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference I have had in my daily life is that my children can now stay in school without fearing that they would be sent home for school fee and stationery since education is the best gift I could ever give to my children. I spent most of my transfer bettering their education because it determines their future.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months I am hoping my business will have stabilized and I would be having a stable source of income to cater for my family's needs. God willing, I will not be doing casual labor jobs for a living, but fully concentrating in my business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
23675 KES ($235 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The money has enabled me to buy a calf that I am planning as a dowry payment in the near future.In addition to that I have bought the iron sheets and timber that I will use to erect a new building for my family.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
My life will have changed because I would have achieved so much in terms of creating developments such building a new descent house, paying fees on time so that the kids do not have to be sent away from school every now and then.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different because I own things that i did not have in the past. The kind of plans I have in mind at the moment have been brought about by the initiative of Give Direct.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am currently planning to pay school fees for my children since their fee balances are too high at the moment. I want to start a small business so that IO can have enough money that will sustain the kids in school in the long run.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is, how to pay school fees for my children since I find it hard to pay for the three of them without a stable income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is, evening after I get food for my family and we have meal together.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer to,build my home. I am old enough to have my own home but due to lack of finance,I have not build my home and still stays in my father's compound.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is,having paid school fees for my child who is in Secondary school despite my very low income.