chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on dowry payment (20000), completed plastering my house (20000), paid school fees (5000), bought food, clothes and utensils (5000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have 10 children with my husband and he had not paid my dowry yet but i am so happy we afforded to pay, I am so happy i have a spacious house and my children have access to food and good clothes. How i wish this transfers could keep coming.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,000 KES to pay part of school fees ( secondary school), I spent 3,000 KES on farming expenses and the rest on other house hold needs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to continue paying school fees for my children and also enlarge my house, make it bigger.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend the whole amount on school fees inorder to keep our children in school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have managed to send all my eleven children to school despite the fact that I don't have a proper job.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest difficulty is that I have not been able to raise school fees because of my low income and there is a time I sold my cow inorder to raise my son's fee.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I'm in my farm ploughing because I know I will harvest enough farm produce that can feed us for a month.