GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Stephen's Profile
Stephen's family
Other (works for others)
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($489 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
There is a big difference in my life because so far I have built a new house which I would have never built. My lifestyle has changed a lot because recently managed to buy a few items in the house such as TV sets, music system, clothes, and a cupboard. I also bought a bed, mattress, and blankets which makes my nights very enjoyable and very peaceful.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start off a small scale business of buying and selling off second-hand clothes to my customers. I have tried this business before even though it all went down when I started experiencing financial difficulties in life even though I strongly believe that with good marketing and a good business idea, I will be able to make it in the already flooded market.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the last transfers on launching a lifetime project investment of building a new house back at my rural home. I managed to build a two bedroomed house which in my personal opinion I believe I would have never managed to build to date were it not for the cash transfers from Give Directly.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been had I never received the transfer since I have been able to pursue a driving course. Without GiveDirectly, I would not have achieved this and I thank God for making this happen. I believe that this will help me since I will be able to secure a job using the license. Having a job will help me be able to gather for my family needs without much struggle since the pay is quite lucrative compared to what I get from doing any available odd jobs.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal in my life that I didn't have before receiving the transfer is to open a restaurant. With this kind of business, I will be assured of getting customers daily and it will boost my daily income. I am targeting to operate this business around my region and I am planning to specialize in foods like pilau which are rarely sold in the hotels which are currently operating in this region. With this, I will attract more customers especially those who would wish to change their diet.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I received my recent transfer when I was undergoing some medication since I was sick. Because of this, I spent part of it to buy some drugs which the doctor had prescribed to me but I had not been able to buy them since they were quite expensive. During this time, I had been instructed by the doctor to take some special meals and I used some of this money to gather for this since I did not have any other money to use. I also decided to enroll myself in a driving school using the remaining amount so that I can have a driving license and be able to acquire a job using it. Acquiring a job as a driver will save me from suffering from different diseases like asthma due to the nature of the jobs I usually do.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My main aim now is to do an electrical installation course since hustling is hard when you do not have any papers indicating that you are learned. I prefer this course because it is marketable and I can find any work without being employed by a specific company.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
At the moment, the biggest difference in my daily life is happiness. This is because I know that I will be having an alternative source of income very soon as I am planning to use the next transfer to open my shop. This will be an additional source of income to my other source in garbage collection. Both sources of income will make me financially stable.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
It has always been my dream to start up a business of selling new clothes and shoes. When I received my recent transfer, I spent part of it in making some shelves which I am intending to use in a shop which I am planning to open. Since I received my transfer during the December holiday, I decided to visit my parents because I had stayed for a whole year without visiting them. Therefore, I used the remaining amount as transport to home and in buying some shopping for my parents and siblings since I could not go home empty handed.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
After the enrollment process with GiveDirectly, I sometimes could not believe that I would get such an amount for free. It was around 8 am as I was still sleeping because I was not feeling well when I received two consecutive messages. I ignored them because I thought they were normal promotional messages from Safaricom. I was so excited when I woke up and realize that one of the messages was from Mpesa indicating that I had received some money. It is at that time that it dawned on me that indeed GiveDirectly never gave us a fake promise. I became so happy and I started celebrating until anyone who saw me at that time could not believe that I was the same person who had been sick.
access_time over 5 years ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority will be to start up a business of selling brand new clothes. This is so because I had scouted for a place earlier and I couldn't proceed with my business due to lack of finances. With this business up and running, I will be able to have a constant job of my own that I can count on for income generation. I will also rent out a better place to stay in. This is my second option because in iron sheet houses cases of fire break outs are so common and they always frustrate ones effort. I would like to find a more secure house so that my growth in life can be stable. Lastly, I will embark on savings. I love savings because it helps me plan for my tomorrow. If I run a business without saving any coins then my future isn't guaranteed.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because with lack of a job comes financial issues. Without money, nothing moves. This becomes the beginning of tough life as I wouldn't be able to fend for my family's basic needs or facilitate my daily movements and livelihood.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I desire to be self-established. This i plan to achieve through being a successful business person so that my children can comfortably go through school and have a secure future of their own. Provide a great life of exemplary living standard for my family and establish a name for myself.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day begins with waking up, grooming myself up, taking breakfast and going to work. I either go for garbage collection which isn't a daily thing or am at my friend's shop helping him to sell his clothes. Through this, I gain knowledge and skills for running my business when it kicks off. At 6pm i return home to prepare supper and get ready for bed. In my free time, i spend it watching football if there are matches or movies.