chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Silvester's Profile
Silvester's family
Silvester
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Construction (works for others)
faceAge:
36
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Silvester's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
37152 KES ($361 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life has chanced after purchasing a plumbing machine. I am stress free and happy that I finish the assigned plumbing tasks on time which has marketed my business more meaning my income has raised to a point where I am able to meet most of my family's needs easily unlike before when I could waste time looking for a friend's machine to hire moreso losing most deals which used to sadden me alot . On the other end I am proud that I have been able to boost my spouse's retail shop business and today I appreciate the fact that she can chip in to support in providing household needs on those days I do not have money. Thanks GiveDirectly.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have no new goal at the moment but rather to focus more on capitalizing in boosting my wife's retail shop since I have notice it is potential when it shall have picked up with enough stock. At the moment her shop is quite small as she sells in small scale. The upcoming transfers will be used mostly to expand her shop and buy products in bulk.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my recent most transfer on expanding my wife's temporary structure and added more stock on her shop. Therefore, she gets more customers and enjoy higher profits which has greatly made her support the family in providing basic needs. I also paid rent and bought household expenditures with the remaining amount of money.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($194 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to open a business for my wife. She has been doing laundry work which is so stressful and time-consuming. The laundry job that my wife is doing also pays very little.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now stress-free. The money came at a time that I had many financial difficulties. I had to pay school fees for my child who had been sent home due to fee arrears, pay rent and hire a plumbing machine for my work. The transfer came as a relief on my side since it sorted out most of the financial challenges that I had and for which I did not know how to sort them out.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
As a plumber, I have been hiring the plumbing machine for my job at a cost. At times it could be engaged and I ended up losing a good deal and so when I received my transfer, I decided to use a larger part of it on purchasing a machine for my plumbing work. I am glad that when I get a job I do it quickly unlike before when I could waste time looking for a friend's machine to hire and worst of all is when I ended up losing the deal when it could be engaged elsewhere. Besides that, I also paid school fees for my daughter who had been sent home for three days due to lack of money. I am glad that she went back to school. The remaining amount was spent on paying rent two months ahead. Rent has been a problem on my side and for this reason, I decided to pay the amount ahead so that I could at least have peace of mind.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received the transfer, I felt very happy. I normally wake up at around six to go to my casual job. That particular day was an awkward one since I started by handling my phone. I was very happy to know that I will finally meet my goals with the help of the transfers.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My top Priority is to buy a plumbing machine and start my own plumbing business. I am a plumber for a construction company hired on a contract basis and sometimes I see them hiring plumbing machines for construction.Having my own plumbing machine will be able to generate income by allowing companies to hire from me. Secondly I will use part of the money to help boost my wife's retail shop here in Mathare. Her shop is quite small as she sells in small scale. The transfer will be used to expand her shop and buy products in bulk. Both ventures will help our finances grow and sustain our household needs. Lastly I will pay school fees for my child. It stresses me to see him sent home for fee arrears and as his father I feel that I am disappointing him and that I am not meeting my responsibility of providing him quality education. By paying his school fees I am sure that he can go to school without worrying about being sent home for fee arrears.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because,currently I am employed on contract basis and sometimes I only work for a month or two, then I have to wait for another job offer. As a casual labourer in construction I always find that companies already have their workers and I am forced to beg for a job. As the head of my family I try so hard for to make sure that our needs are met, but sometimes I have to depend on my wife's income for the family up keep, which makes me feel that I am not responsible as a man. Being unemployed makes me worry that I will not be able provide for my family or fulfill my ambitions of building my own house in the future in the rural area.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to be a land owner in future and be able to build my own house in the rural area. My tradition dictates that as a man I should build my own house in order for me to be seen and valued.My next of keen will also be respected in the community if I build my own house and my masculinity is judged from this as well. My current house in the ruraI area is temporary and I barely go there because the house looks unfinished with a thatched roof top that has holes in it. We barely have a good night sleep whenever we visit because when it rains we can not sleep. I also want to prosper in my plumbing business,be a supplier of plumbing machines to different companies within Nairobi.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I wake up early in the morning,prepare, and take breakfast then head for work.I work in a construction company as a plumber and currently my company has contracted my team to work in Parklands area. Sometimes I am forced to wake up even earlier than 4:00am in the morning, depending on the location of work. I work until around 8:00pm in the evening then go back home, eat supper while bonding with my family then retire to bed. During my free time I relax with my family or hang out with my peers.