chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Susan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
54
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent a portion of my third transfer on livestock, that was, 2 oxen for ploughing and a donkey for fetching water. I lived in a very dry region where streams were a bit far from residential homes. This therefore called for long journeys in search for this precious resource. Having a donkey to aid in this was the best decision ever. Other than those, I paid school fee for my children in school.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying an ox and a donkey.I also bought school uniforms for my children,1 sack of maize and food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a donkey hence I don't buy water but fetch from the lake.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4000 KES of my token payment on a goat, I paid 2000 KES on primary school fees for my 2 children and I spent the remaining 4000 KES on tableware and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy 2 oxen, build a semi-permanent house of 20 iron sheets and boost my grocery business. These are my what I am planning to do with my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a bull to help me in farming, build a bigger shelter, paying my kids' school fees, buy a donkey to help fetch water from long distance since we have water scarcity in this area and boost my business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is being a merry go round member and so far been able to save money monthly which has really assisted my kids and I for a long time now.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest harship that I face in my life is falling sick once in a while since am HIV positive and this weighs me down most of the time.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is weaving which makes me stay hopeful because from it I will make money.