chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on buying two cows for milking. I always had to buy milk but that is a gone case as I now have my own cattle. The remaining I spent on food for daily use in my household.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($483 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my second transfer I rented 4 acre piece of land where I currently grow rice and it is my strong believe that this is my year-I expect to make a kill!
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Initially, my daily routine was working on peoples' paddy field.However, at the moment, my routine has changed; I wake up daily and move straight to my paddy field where I work with motivation. It is great!
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to buy two sacks of corn that cost me 6000 KES,because i never had anything to feed my children on. I spent the remaining to buy a goat and prove to the non participants that GD is actually a good Organization.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to spend my upcoming transfer to construct a bigger house that can accommodate my growing family. I also want to spend the other part to invest in rice plantation.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to buy two cows to act as security incase of any emergency. Secondly l would wish to pay school fees for the orphan l am taking care of which one of them is in standard eight and is joining high school next year. Lastly l would like to expand my house since my children are growing up and l need to have a more spacies house for privacy purpose.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that when I got married we use to stay in a rental house but I have struggled and built our own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when I have got some casual work knowing that I will earn money to buy food for my family.