GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mboya's Profile
Mboya's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Mboya's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum payment, I spent 35000 KES on a lorry of bricks, 3500 KES on 3 chairs and the remaining 11500 KES on tableware and clothing.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to sit on the floor before I got transfers from GD, however I am now sitting on a more comfortable chairs which are ergonomically made to enhance our health. The biggest difference in my daily life.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a set of seats @ 4,600KES, and paid 4,000KES school fees for my child who had just joined form 1. I also spent 2,400KES on buying a sack of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
i plan to buy building materials: ironsheet, timber and nails, and ettend my house to make it more spacious. My father had started building some rental rooms but did not complete them , so I plan to complete the rooms.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a kitchen that can also serve as a bedroom for my grown children, expand my house because its small and invest more in my livestock business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest that I earned my fourth year certificate.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of sufficient funds to educate my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I am resting.