GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought one cow at 13,000 KES, tilled land with 5,500 KES, paid 2,000 KES debt, bought two sacks of maize at 4,400 KES, wall poles at 5,000 KES, roofing poles at 4,800 KES, 7 iron sheets at 4,550 KES, used 1,200 KES on transportation, paid 550 KES school fee for my children, bought two school uniforms and a pait of shoes at 900 KES, used about 5,000 KES on my brother's funeral then used on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am no longer working for others to get something to eat like I used to do before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Did agricultural and paid school fees
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Repair my house
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfer on purchasing two cows and a plough so that I can till my farm easily. I also plan to renovate my house by having it cemented and to pay school fees for my child. I have a sick child who requires medical attention and I can use
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that my husband died and left me with young kids who I have struggled to see them get good education till secondary school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I have a big farmland and am not able to till the whole of it myself and to make it worse, hiring a mechanical plough is expensive and I cannot afford. I highly depend on my farm for food and if I am not
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is that I love working on my farm so I wake up early in the morning at around 8am and work till 12pm.