<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Charles
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Charles's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two bulls(30000 ) ox-plough (7000 KES), cushions 3500 KES murram soil and ballast 3500 and the rest on food and clothes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I can now do ox ploughing for income and have also repaired my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,500KES on buying seats, repaired my bed with 1,500KES, and gave 2,000 to my wife for household expenditure.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy oxen and a plough for ploughing my farm so that I do not have to hire the services during planting season.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy chairs with the first transfer. The second transfer I will use to repair my house and buy oxen to use when ploughing my farm. The third transfer I will use to start a small business?
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is having built my house. This is because I built it with proceeds from the sale of cattle that I had reared for some time.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of school fees for my children and how to feed them properly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning. This is because I know that I am going to work and later in the day I will have earned some money to feed my family.