GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Anupi's Profile
Anupi's family
Anupi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (self-employed)
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($485 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Receiving these transfers to have greatly changed my life, through financial support that I received, I was able to venture into my dream opportunity, a cosmetics shop, which I always get a good income from it, as well as vending fruits in town, which on a day I take home KSH 400 profit. I do save this money for the purpose of expanding my business for better income.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I currently run two businesses in town, I opened a cosmetic shop and also vending fruits in town. My new goal is to ensure that I do uplift these two businesses to greater heights for better income in the future for their demand is high.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a larger portion of my most recent transfer to open a cosmetics shop and also ventured into fruits vending. I am running these two projects concurrently. So far, these are the only sources of income that I boast of having which I did not have before GiveDirectly came to us. I spent the remaining portion of the money to clear my house rent and cater for the needs of my household like food and clothing for my children.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is much better at the moment. After using the transfers to expand my business. I get more proceeds from my business. This has enabled me to meet my family's needs much easier. Before I used to do menial jobs that brought little income. This income was too little that meeting my needs was hard. I now have extra Income that I save and I am even planning to take my children to a better school.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I am planning to build a new house in my rural home. Earlier on before the transfer, I could not be able to raise such a big amount to enable me to build a new house. I could rely on menials jobs whose income only catered for our family's needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent this months transfer on paying school of KES 3000 and the remaining KES 3000 went to expanding my business. I have saved KES 28000 that as soon as I am ready I will use to build my own house. I then used KES 2000 to shop for food items and other hosyuehold items in my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($196 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
There is a very prime vacant shop near my grocery shop which I plan to rent when I receive the next transfers. I will use it for a bookshop/a cosmetic shop which I will employ someone to manage while I run my grocery business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Selling just a few items did not give me much profits which made it a struggle taking care of my personal and family needs. Since I enlarged the business, I have been making much more money and I can provide for my family with ease and even have good money left to save.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
For a long time, I have been selling just three items in my grocery shop which did not give much profits. I decided to use part of the money I received to expand the business by adding more items such as fruits a variety of vegetables that I did not have before. I also used some of it to clear a loan I had borrowed from my table -banking group to avoid accumulation of interest. A bit of the money was spent on foodstuff and the rest saved for future use.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
All the while I was interacting with GD staff, I had no faith in whatever they said, this is because of the previous disappointments I have had with other organizations. The moment I received the money, I was actually shocked to know that it was all real. I had to call a few other group members to confirm if they had received the money just to be sure.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will use this money to boost my current business of vegetables and tomato selling business adding more stock for instance oranges.I will then also pay school fees for my children since at times they are usually sent back for school and. I will also help my father who is in our rural home by getting him something that he can do like a business.
Describe your biggest worry.
My most troubling worry is always about getting a plot or land for my family. This worries me because we still don't know how we will build a house and also the future of my children.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to ensure that my business grows and expand so that from it I will be able to give my family a good life so that they not sent everytime home for school fees.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In NY usual day, I 1st o wake up and prepare my children for school then I go to Gikomba Market to add more business stock. After that I do my chapati cooking business up to afternoon. Then at around 4:00pm I go for my business kiosk where I sell vegetables and tomato up to around 9:00pm.While at my free time, I do laundry and be with my children in the house.