GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a set of seats @12,000KES, an iron door and iron windows with 14,000KES and fixed in my house. I also bought iron sheet and constructed an iron roofed kitchen for my children to sleep in.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My children will now have a place to sleep in and my visitors who can't sleep in my house due to cultural reasons.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought plastic chairs , l used for medication and bought school uniforms.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to plaster my house , fence my home and buy water tank.
access_time 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to expand and renovate my house then buy furniture to fit into my house. I also have a plan to start a small business of sugar and cooking oil. I also plan to use the remaining balance to pay school fees for my three kids in high school and one in
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I have done that makes me proud is that I have get married.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is that I have orphans that I am taking care of and being that I don't have a reliable source of income it is hard to provide the basic needs for the children and myself too.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I am able to work in my garden.